Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Football world when Juventus were last trophyless: Man Utd, Dortmund champions

It has been 11 years since Juventus last finished a campaign without a single trophy.

Luigi Delneri was manager when a disastrous campaign saw the Bianconeri finish seventh in the league, while they were eliminated in the Europa League group stage – finishing behind Manchester City and Lech Poznan – and the Coppa Italia last-16 by Roma.

The 2010-11 season was Old Lady’s last before they moved to the Juventus Stadium and the arrival of Antonio Conte which sparked domestic dominance and nine consecutive Serie A titles.

But in 2011, things were a little different around in the world of football.

Juve’s top goal scorer that season was Alessandro Del Piero with 11 goals in all competitions, while they kicked off their league campaign with a 1-0 defeat at Bari.

Milan were Serie A champions while reigning Treble-winners Inter retained the Coppa Italia.

Elsewhere, Manchester United were Premier League champions and Champions League finalists – their last appearance in the competition’s showpiece – while Jurgen Klopp had led Borussia Dortmund to the first of their back-to-back Bundesliga titles. Bayern Munich finished third.

Schalke, who this season achieved promotion back to the Bundesliga were Champions League semi-finalists with Manuel Neuer in goal, while Man City won the FA Cup, their first major trophy for 35 years.

Pep Guardiola won his second Champions League title in three years with Barcelona, a feat he has not achieved since as manager. The Catalans were also LaLiga champions.

Jose Mourinho had just finished his first season as Real Madrid manager which yielded a Copa del Rey title and plenty of controversy off the pitch.

Lille were Ligue 1 champions, also winning the Coupe France. Paris Saint-Germain finished fourth and would be bought by Qatari Sport Investment that summer.

In the Netherlands, Frank de Boer was gaining a reputation for a young manager to keep an eye, breaking Ajax’s seven-year duck to win the first of four consecutive…


Read More

Leave a Reply